“OMG since 1997”

I tried to log into AIM recently with my high school screen name. It didn’t work, because they told me to check an email address that does not exist anymore.

They have a new tagline: “OMG since 1997” which makes me think that I should probably get back on there just in case it becomes as retro-cool as, say, typewriters. Obviously, this plan will primarily end up with me sitting in front of my empty chat room, but soon the cool kids will join me. And then we will chat about the latest drama or investigate who likes you.

I like to send and receive letters. If AIM requires the use of dial-up, like in the olden days, the art of slow communication will live on. Half the joy of a letter or postcard, however, is the tangible aspect. AIM will have to address that.

