Greenwashing the Slopes

I’m just learning to snowboard so I don’t have skilled snowboarder commentary here. As a beginner, I may also be missing the point of the resort while attempting to link turns consistently.

My local resort and its base area are corporate and pre-fab, or everything I tend to avoid. Until now, when I subject myself to it mostly voluntarily.

Do I live in Vermont for the shopping malls?

Ski resorts have no excuse to not sign onto the missions of organizations like Protect Our Winters and Climate Reality’s I Am Pro Snow campaign, both supported by pro skiers and riders. You would think that skiing and riding, and the ability to do so in 50 years, would take some precedence. We have “Sustainable Slopes,” supposedly a “green” ski industry organization, but what exactly does it do beside make people feel a little better for driving hours to get to a resort?

If the ski industry doesn’t work a little harder on climate change, it’ll be clear that skiing and riding are but secondary to conspicuous consumption. Maybe we can admire your new Range Rover and then go shopping at the mall in the base area, because there will be no more snow on the mountain. Shopping is at least a year-round activity.

Maybe the point of going to a ski resort is really doing everything but skiing (some resorts have waterparks now!), because you won’t be able to ski anymore. Snow guns are but a stopgap measure–you won’t be able to make snow when it’s warm out.

